What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

A medical student's perspective on using the ipad2

p53

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I felt as though I should make a follow up thread after my hugely successful "cracked ipad" thread =]. I've been using my ipad 2 now every single day since I picked it up back in March. I am a 3rd year medical student, and the ipad has made my life so much easier. I had some ideas about its utility prior to buying it, but the ipad has totally surpassed my expectations.

For example, I have integrated the ipad into morning rounds when the team of physicians and medical students visits each patient at the bedside. I have been able to integrate the ipad with the patient database at our hospital and can pull up X-rays, ct scans, pt charts, etc. It has been so useful in this sense and has saved my butt many times when an attending physician asks me about a lab value that I had forgotten to check.

Also, I have altered the pocket in my white coat so that the ipad can fit snugly inside. A large part of being a 3rd year medical student is WAITING around! The ipad has been so invaluable in this sense as I am able to kill time checking email, etc.

Finally, I have nearly all of my medical textbooks on the ipad and the ability to carry all these textbooks at once is truly amazing. In short, I never thought I would be using the ipad as much as I have in the past few months. My macbook sits lonely on my desk as I take my ipad with me everywhere I go. Sure it has some shortcomings, but it has made my life easier.

Ryan

Last edited:

MattIM

iPF Novice
Reaction score