What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

A few questions about iPads

rukass

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hey. So I got my iPad2 (if this should be in that section of the forums, sorry. It just seemed to me it would fit here) yesterday as a birthday gift and it's my first time with an iPad, so here are a few questions:
1. I've heard that the screen is pretty much unscratchable. Is that true?
2. Sometimes, for no apparent reason, I oversweat from my hands (including fingers). Should I consider this an issue?
3. I may seem a bit ignorant here, but what exactly is an iPad/what's an iPod for? Is it like a portable mini-PC and mini-library?

Thanks on advance :)

Diane B

iPF Novice
Reaction score
The glass is very difficult to scratch. I have had an Ipad One since early May 2010 and it still has no scratches and I'll use the Ipad three similarly. I wouldn't consider sweating an issue but I'd keep a micro cloth nearby to clean screen.

What is an ipad (an ipod is more like the Iphone but without phone, used for a lot--I have one, but often for music as priority)?? It can be many things. I have found solutions for almost all things i do with laptop and main PC except for photo processing in Photoshop and Lightroom and big unwieldy spreadsheets. To be used at a high level you do have to search for the right apps to do what you want done, sometimes combine uses of more than two apps, but its amazing what can be done. I'd read through some of the uses people put their Ipads to on this forum.