What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

a data connection not currently allowed

Bmischel

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi all, I'm new to the iPad. Recently bought the ipad2 with 3g and have been getting a message 'a data connection not currently allowed'. Any idea what this is and what I can to stop it?

Tim SPRACKLEN

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I have seen several reports of people having the exact same problem - although with the iPhone4. Their solution seems to have been either to

(a) Power the device down, remove the SIM card, power the device up, power the device down, insert the SIM card and power it on again.

(b) Reset and re-enter all the network settings.

If you've not already tried it, you might also try the iPad's 'fix all problems' cure of completely powering the device down (hold down the Power switch for a couple of seconds) and then powering it on again. It fixes a whole load of unexplained problems - a bit like rebooting your PC.

Let us know if this works - if not we'll try some more 'interesting' solutions...

Welcome to the Forum, by the way!!

Tim

OP
B

Bmischel

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Tim SPRACKLEN said:
I have seen several reports of people having the exact same problem - although with the iPhone4. Their solution seems to have been either to

(a) Power the device down, remove the SIM card, power the device up, power the device down, insert the SIM card and power it on again.

(b) Reset and re-enter all the network settings.