1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

5GHz wireless on iPad 4

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by grahamet1, Jul 1, 2013.

  1. grahamet1
    Offline

    grahamet1 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orihuela Costa, Spain
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi, I recently bought a Linksys EA4500 dual band wireless 'n' router to improve reception. Without changing the SSID I broadcast on 5 GHz is there any way I can tell whether my iPad is using 5 or 2.4 ?
  2. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,008
    Thanks Received:
    1,864
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,017 / 1
    Nothing on the iPad, to the best of my knowledge. There might be something in the router, in the logs or where it shows what clients are connected.
  3. grahamet1
    Offline

    grahamet1 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orihuela Costa, Spain
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks but the router's admin pages don't say either, even though I've set up a Linksys "smart wifi" account. :(
  4. col.bris
    Offline

    col.bris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,540
    Thanks Received:
    422
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Brisbane , Queensland Australia
    Ratings:
    +460 / 0
    It is automatic assuming the channel you are connected to is the high speed connection Yu could use speed test to verify


    Colin
    iPad forums Administrator
  5. AQ_OC
    Offline

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,418
    Thanks Received:
    430
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +430 / 0
    If it is a dual band, then you should be able to give each band a different SSID. That's what I do and I can easily tell which one my iPad is on.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
how do i check what band my ipad is on 2.4 or 5 on linksys x3500?
,
ipad 4 5ghz
,
ipad 4 and 5ghz wireless router
,
ipad 4 wireless n 5g
,
ipad 5 ghz wireless n setup
,
ipad wireless broadcast.
,

ipad4 5ghz

,
ipad4 5ghz wireless
,
setup ipad 4 5ghz