3G problem

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by wench, Jan 2, 2013.

  1. wench
    Offline

    wench iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,119
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0
    I just uninstalled ovano on iPad 2 jailbroken and have lost my 3G signal. Is it safe to reset network settings and not lose jailbreak. I always look to this forum first for help, finally joined.
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2013
  2. Fid
    Offline

    Fid iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    503
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hinterlands of Northern California
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Resetting the network settings should not have any effect on your jail break. Want me to try it on mine first? It's an iPad 1.
    I can do it as soon as I get home, about an hour.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. wench
    Offline

    wench iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,119
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0
    Thank you
  4. Fid
    Offline

    Fid iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    503
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hinterlands of Northern California
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Was that a yes as to restore network settings?
  5. Fid
    Offline

    Fid iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    503
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hinterlands of Northern California
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    We'll know as soon as it reboots. I have the Apple logo. I have the changed font for time. I have all the icons in the places that they were before the reset. After I entered my static IP address information, I have Cydia.
    I did not lose the jailbreak after resetting the network.
    I'd call that a success.
    Good luck.
  6. leelai
    Online

    leelai Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    24,850
    Thanks Received:
    1,280
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Ratings:
    +1,351 / 0
    Hi and welcome to the Forum!

    Nice thought there by Fid.....Enjoy!

    The IPad Forum is a community of members from all walks of life and from all over the world coming together to share our experiences and to help each other learn about this wonderful piece of technology the Ipad. There is a wealth of information already here in the many threads we have so doing some searches will answer most of the questions you have. If then you cannot find the answer you are seeking then by all means post your question. There are many friendly and informed members here only too willing to help you.

    We also have our own App - It is a very simple app to navigate.
    http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/discussion-forum-for-ipad/id412896524?mt=8
    Tutorial on creating posts on the Forum
    http://www.ipadforums.net/new-membe...-creating-posts-starting-new-threads-how.html
    Reading the IPad manual is a great place to start so please download a copy of these.
    http://www.support.apple.com/manuals/ipad/
    3 very informative threads from which you will learn many tips and shortcuts for the IPad.
    http://www.ipadforums.net/ipad-general-discussions/21590-tips-tricks-those-us-who-dont-know.html
    http://www.ipadforums.net/ipad-os/49581-ios5-tips-tricks.html
    http://www.ipadforums.net/ipad-help...shortcuts-helpful-places-people-new-ipad.html
    We have rules like any Community so please read these also
    http://www.ipadforums.net/forum-rul...um-rules-everybody-please-read.html#post14697

    Once again we welcome you here and are so pleased you have joined us!
  7. Fid
    Offline

    Fid iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    503
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hinterlands of Northern California
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Hi Leelai, I had nothing to lose. I have a good back up and it is an iPad 1. No problem with jail breaking again. And putting my apps back. There is not much on it. I didn't mind being a guinea pig.
    Greg
  8. wench
    Offline

    wench iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,119
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0
    Thank you all for your information and threads, I have been reading IPF for over a year, great forum. Finally joined, but still not sure if I can reset my network and not lose my jailbreak, would lose it if I could not watch Downton Abby before my sis did
  9. wench
    Offline

    wench iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,119
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0
    So do I have to know my static ip stuff, kinda beyond me? Just want my 3G back on, BTW, has anyone else had problems with octavo. It seemed to slow my 3G down
  10. wench
    Offline

    wench iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,119
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0
    I still have a back up on 5.1.1, yet on cydia it also shows a 6.0, that I have never updated, is that another problem?
  11. leelai
    Online

    leelai Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    24,850
    Thanks Received:
    1,280
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Ratings:
    +1,351 / 0
    As you are Jailbroken, I've moved your thread to our Hacking Section where you will receive a better response.
  12. wench
    Offline

    wench iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,119
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0
    Thank you, was not sure how to post in here. But still need help on getting my 3G back, after uninstalling that dumb ap
  13. Fid
    Offline

    Fid iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    503
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hinterlands of Northern California
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    You probably don't have your network set up with static ip addresses. I chose to set it up that way so I could know who was wanting to use the wireless network since it is on a dialup connection. No sense in squatters slinking by and tying up the phone line.
    As for Cydia saving blobs, I think it saves blobs for possible updates for your device when they are available. My iPad 1 had blobs for 5.1 long before I decided to upgrade..
  14. wench
    Offline

    wench iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,119
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0
    Now i am totally confused, my wireless network is fine, just want my 3 g back
  15. wench
    Offline

    wench iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,119
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0
    Please help me, I loaded onavo on my device per Kim komandao,, deleted it because my 3 g ran so slow, now I have no 3 g.. Help plz
  16. wench
    Offline

    wench iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,119
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0
    Just reset my network settings, still no 3 g.. Help
  17. Fid
    Offline

    Fid iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    503
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hinterlands of Northern California
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Hi wench, would you check in Settings and see if 3G is set to on? It might be in General -> Cellular, and say Enable 3G.
    A thing to try if it is set to ON would be to turn it off along with turning off Cellular Data. Then turn them back on. If that doesn't help, try turning them off and rebooting the iPad. Then turn on Cellular Data and then Enable 3G.
    I'm crossing my fingers.
  18. wench
    Offline

    wench iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,119
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0
    I don't see a enable 3G under general. I am currently on golf course without wifi, but my gps seems to work. Still no 3G signal, so this is a tes
  19. Fid
    Offline

    Fid iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    503
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hinterlands of Northern California
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Well I searched around the Internet and found that the cellular settings are on the main page of settings, not under general.
    Double check your account settings. Make sure they are correct with what you know you have set up with the cell company.
    One of the things that I have been seeing is people having to call their provider and get some kind of walkthrough. The typical stuff about restart your iPad, turn off wifi, check for connection, turn wifi back on, etc. they might do something on their end with your account and then ask you to Reprovision your account, "Reprovisioning the account can be found SETTINGS>GENERAL>RESET>SUBSCRIBER SERVICES>REPROVISION ACCOUNT". That is the thing that seems to get everything back up and running. I don't know If the cell company has to set something on your account on their end for you to Reprovision the account on your iPad.
    I would give them a call and see what they can do.
  20. wench
    Offline

    wench iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,119
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0
    OMG, you are an angel!

Share This Page