3G or WIFI? Which of the two is working right now?

Discussion in 'iPad FAQ' started by maxatma, Jun 13, 2011.

  1. maxatma
    Offline

    maxatma iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kyiv, Ukraine
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    It may seem a very silly question, yet it is very important to me. If I have 3G data activated on my Ipad2 and a wifi network at home, how do I know that my Ipad2 right now is surfing the internet through wifi and not through 3G? You see, I have a very limited 3G data plan and unlimited Wifi data plan, so it is vitally important for me to find out the answer.
    P.S. I have both 3G and WIFI written on my status bar, so I really don't know which of them is working right now...
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 13, 2011
  2. jmbarker
    Offline

    jmbarker iPad Fan

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    180
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    By design the iPad should connect to WiFi before 3G if available. I know mine connects to my WiFi net at home only. You should also see the WiFi arches at the top if the screen, left corner and not "3G".
  3. maxatma
    Offline

    maxatma iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kyiv, Ukraine
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    The thing is that I have both WIFI arches and Utel 3G (my network) written on top of the screen...
  4. DefBref
    Offline

    DefBref iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    979
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Egremont
    Ratings:
    +53 / 0
  5. maxatma
    Offline

    maxatma iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kyiv, Ukraine
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    DefBref, thank you, now it is more or less clear to me.
    Still, every other piece of advice would be appreciated to ensure 100% it is not using my limited 3G while it is connected to my unlimited wifi))
  6. littlesue73
    Offline

    littlesue73 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I have t-mobile 3G iPad 2 and even tho it says T-mobile at the top, right next to it is the signal to wifi, now if I turn wifi off it then says T-mobile 3G, so if wifi is turned on it will use wifi first if there is wifi in range. I hope that helps
  7. Diesel
    Offline

    Diesel iPad Fan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    As mentioned above, the WiFi arches should appear instead of 3G when connection to WiFi. Your IPad should also ask or mention available wifi signals first.
  8. Drag Bunt
    Offline

    Drag Bunt iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    the 'burbs of @lanta
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Why not just turn off Cellular Data in Settings when you’re using wifi? 100% sure you won't be using it if it's turned off.
  9. f4780y
    Online

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +635 / 0
    Your 3G data won't be used when you are connected to a wifi network... No need to mess with settings. As long as you have a wifi connection, it will be used over anything else, even to the point of failing to connect to anything if your wifi router is not connected to the outside world...
  10. jmbarker
    Offline

    jmbarker iPad Fan

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    180
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Look at the attachment. I have an AT&T 3G iPad 2. You will see AT&T and WiFi arches. No 3G.

    Attached Files:

  11. Freshbru
    Offline

    Freshbru iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    What if u put it in Airplane Mode? Wudnt that turn off 3G using wifi by default?
  12. Fr0st
    Offline

    Fr0st iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Well yes, but the point is, he would like to actually use his wifi.

    I concur with f4780y, if you have BOTH on and you are connected to a wireless network, then data is being accessed from wifi. Mobile phones and iPads are designed to prioritize wifi networks over 3G by default, so no worries!

    There is the option to do the opposite, but I don't see why anyone should eat away at their 3G data plan! :p
  13. tmno2
    Offline

    tmno2 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    With Airplane mode on you can then switch wifi back on, which is how I operate at home, decreases all extraneous draws on the battery as well.
    By the way, when I checked out your attached screen shot, you only had a minimum wifi connection, additionally, I got confused for a second, as I couldn't remember putting all those apps on my iPad!
    Very realistic aren't they?
  14. maxatma
    Offline

    maxatma iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kyiv, Ukraine
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thank you all very much, now I'm sure.
  15. Freshbru
    Offline

    Freshbru iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    3G or Wifi

    I had one and got rid of it. This is very simple. When you are working in an area that has wifi and you do NOT want to use 3G. Go to Settings, Airplane Mode, On. Turning airplane mode ON is the same as doing it for your phone when you are on a plane. This turns off your 3G or subscribed to data plan. Then - go to Settings, Wifi, On, then check the network you want to connect to.
    I did this and it worked great for me. So 3G = Airplane Mode OFF and Wifi Off
    Wifi and no 3G = Airplane Mode On, Wifi On
  16. fdgboy
    Offline

    fdgboy iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Help,

    What about the opposite problem?

    I was recently at a hotel, but my ipad wanted to connect to their pay to use wifi service. I couldn't get my ipad to use my 3g plan. I was stuck on the hotel's sign up page to pay for their wifi. How do I work around this problem?

    As my luck would have it, a similar problem at home, we lost our internet connection via our wireless router. None of our home computers would connect to the internet. But my ipad again would not connect to the internet via my 3g plan (which I did check and is only used up by a third), it only gave a message of "unable to connect" or something like that.

    Thanks
  17. Kaykaykay
    Offline

    Kaykaykay iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,973
    Thanks Received:
    443
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +443 / 0
    In Settings, turn off your Wi-Fi and turn on your Cellular Data. They're on two separate toggles on the Settings list. (Cellular Data is 3G.)
  18. Kaykaykay
    Offline

    Kaykaykay iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,973
    Thanks Received:
    443
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +443 / 0
    I just turn off Cellular Data if I don't want 3G.
  19. fdgboy
    Offline

    fdgboy iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0


    Thanks, that does the trick!

    Now..., can you help me out with my wireless router problems at home?
    ;-)
  20. Kaykaykay
    Offline

    Kaykaykay iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,973
    Thanks Received:
    443
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +443 / 0
    No problem, but I bill for travel and by the hour, lol.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
does my ipad use wifi before 3g
,

how can i tell if my ipad is on wifi or 3g

,

how can i tell if my ipad is using 3g or wifi

,
how can i tell if my wifi is working on my ipad
,
how do i know i am connected to wifi and not next g on my ipad
,
how do i know if i have free wifi on iphone5
,

how do i know if my ipad is on wifi or 3g

,

how do i know if my ipad is using wifi or 3g

,
how do you know if 3 g is working
,
how do you know if ipad is connected to wifi or 3g
,
how do you know if the ipad is working as cellular or wifi?
,
how do you know if you are connected to wifi on ipad
,
how do you know ipad using wifi
,
how to know if cellular working in ipad
,

how to tell if ipad is using 3g or wifi

,
how to tell if ipad is using wifi
,
how to tell if wifi is working
,
how to tell if wifi is working on ipad
,
on my ipad how do i know whether im on wifi or 3g
,
what is 4g wireless and how to use it instead of 3g on ipad