Welcome to iPadForums.net Guest - Click Here to Register

Stacking routers

This is a discussion on Stacking routers within the Off-Topic forums, part of the Apple iPad Discussions category; Folks I have a question; I recently upgraded my home router to a net gear N, nothing was wrong with the old linksys it was ...

iPadForums.net is the original Apple iPad Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    iPad Enthusiast
    Member #
    59631
    Liked
    2 times
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    372
    Folks I have a question;
    I recently upgraded my home router to a net gear N, nothing was wrong with the old linksys it was just time to upgrade. Can I use two routers in my home? I'd like to move the old router to another room where I have a new flatscreen tv with Internet capability, I dont have a hardwired ethernet run to that room.
    In a nutshell, I want to use the second router for wireless connectivity for my new tv

    Thanks

    5.0
    BL

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    iPF Legend
    Member #
    27654
    Liked
    119 times
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    15,248
    So you want to link, by WiFi, the new Netgear N to the old Linksys and then from that Linksys to your TV and be able to access the Internet from your TV via the Linksys-Netgear 'link'?

    Tim

  4. #3
    iPad Enthusiast
    Member #
    59631
    Liked
    2 times
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    372
    Quote Originally Posted by Tim SPRACKLEN
    So you want to link, by WiFi, the new Netgear N to the old Linksys and then from that Linksys to your TV and be able to access the Internet from your TV via the Linksys-Netgear 'link'?

    Tim
    Exactly

    5.0
    BL

  5. #4
    iPad Fan
    Member #
    39405
    Liked
    2 times
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    141
    Quote Originally Posted by blucente
    Folks I have a question;
    I recently upgraded my home router to a net gear N, nothing was wrong with the old linksys it was just time to upgrade. Can I use two routers in my home? I'd like to move the old router to another room where I have a new flatscreen tv with Internet capability, I dont have a hardwired ethernet run to that room.
    In a nutshell, I want to use the second router for wireless connectivity for my new tv

    Thanks

    5.0
    Typically you would need the old router wired to your new - making the old basically an extended wireless access point. But, without an Ethernet run to that room it's not much good to you. They do make devices that utilize the wiring in your home, through the plugins, to facilitate getting Ethernet where you need it. That might be an option for ya. Then you could plug directly into the TV.

    To use your old router in that room you would also need another phone/DSL modem or cable modem. And then I would doubt you could log on to your service provider with both... But I have no confirmation on that - never tried it etc.

    Can you get to any attic space between new router and this room?

    I don't think a wireless connection between old and new will work unless your ould router was specifically designed for that type of an access point / wireless extender.
    Cheers

  6. #5
    iPad Enthusiast
    Member #
    59631
    Liked
    2 times
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    372
    Hmmm, thanks for the input.

    It would be a huge undertaking to get a wired cable to the TV. The location of the tv is on the second floor in the bedroom and my new router is on the main floor (1st floor). I know I can purchase a wireless flash device for the tv but they want 80 to 100 bucks for it.

    I do have an option, I think. I planned on moving my xbox to that room also, it has wireless. Would this work and give my tv wireless access through the xbox. And yes, I have the xbox with wireless built in.

    5.0
    BL

  7. #6
    iPF Novice
    Member #
    21158
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Texas USA
    Posts
    23

    repeater

    I use a WRT54G as a repeater after reflashing it with dd-wrt. Works with the G protocol but not with N since the WRT54 is G only. Extended my wifi so that I have full access all over my house and in my outbuildings. Security is good with dd-wrt, also, since it uses any of the common security protocols.

    Googleing dd-wrt will give you all the info you may need to set this up. For the repeater setup, google dd-wrt repeater.

    Hope this helps.
    bw

  8. #7
    iPad Enthusiast
    Member #
    59631
    Liked
    2 times
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    372
    Thanks i'll check it out

    5.0
    BL

  9. #8
    iPad Fan
    Member #
    39199
    Liked
    3 times
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    174
    Buy a wireless printer router as a receiver for you wireless router and hook the printer router to your tv. I use this same set up for my xbox 360, paid $15 for the wireless printer router and use it as my wireless receiver for the xbox360 and it works like a champ. Just an idea for ya.

    Sent from my iPad using iPF

  10. #9
    iPad Enthusiast
    Member #
    59631
    Liked
    2 times
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    372
    That's a great idea, where were you two days ago, I just finished running a wire to my TV! Oh well, at least I learned a new trick to pass on.

    Thanks for the reply.

    5.0
    BL

  11. #10
    iPad Fan
    Member #
    39199
    Liked
    3 times
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    174
    You're most welcome. Was hoping you hadn't run wire yet. Bummer man, but yeah it's a neat little trick you can use in the future.

    Sent from my iPad using iPF


Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Gigabit Routers??
    By Kenworth in forum iPad General Discussions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-14-2011, 06:13 AM
  2. Routers
    By hanstoby222 in forum New Member Introductions - Site Assistance
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-09-2011, 08:12 PM
  3. Rogers, Stacking unused data
    By Bruce S in forum iPad Carriers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-05-2011, 02:16 PM
  4. Routers
    By whoachubby in forum iPad General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-24-2010, 08:47 AM
  5. 3g routers
    By rww002 in forum iPad General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-29-2010, 02:54 PM

Search tags for this page

stacking routers

,
stacking routers in home network
,
stacking two home routers
,
stacking wireless routers
Click on a term to search for related topics.