Welcome to iPadForums.net Guest - Click Here to Register

Traveling with the Ipad

This is a discussion on Traveling with the Ipad within the iPad Travel Forum forums, part of the Apple iPad Discussions category; Has anyone used a micro sim that apparently works in all countries ie maxroam? I paid 90 euros for mine but it stopped after 3 ...

iPadForums.net is the original Apple iPad Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
+ Reply to Thread
Page 7 of 11 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 104
  1. #61
    iPad Noob!
    Member #
    24111
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    France
    Posts
    1
    Has anyone used a micro sim that apparently works in all countries ie maxroam? I paid 90 euros for mine but it stopped after 3 days - max roam said I needed more credit which I put on plus a credit bundle but it still doesn't work and I cannot get an answer out of maxroam - is it better to buy a sim for whatever country you're in? I live in France but travel to the uk and Italy quite a lot

  2. Ads


  3. #62
    iPad Junkie!
    Member #
    7131
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    187
    Quote Originally Posted by Amanda harrison View Post
    Has anyone used a micro sim that apparently works in all countries ie maxroam? I paid 90 euros for mine but it stopped after 3 days - max roam said I needed more credit which I put on plus a credit bundle but it still doesn't work and I cannot get an answer out of maxroam - is it better to buy a sim for whatever country you're in? I live in France but travel to the uk and Italy quite a lot
    I have never tried the micro sim card that works in all countries. I think that would mean roaming charges.
    I would go with getting the sim for a particular country. That is the one big advantage the Ipad has over other devices where you have to purchase contracts like when you are buying a phone.

  4. #63
    iPad Noob!
    Member #
    27982
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    France and uk
    Posts
    1

    Europe travelling

    Quote Originally Posted by Amanda harrison View Post
    Has anyone used a micro sim that apparently works in all countries ie maxroam? I paid 90 euros for mine but it stopped after 3 days - max roam said I needed more credit which I put on plus a credit bundle but it still doesn't work and I cannot get an answer out of maxroam - is it better to buy a sim for whatever country you're in? I live in France but travel to the uk and Italy quite a lot
    I am in a similar situation, living in France, but travelling to the UK regularly and am new to all things Apple. I have a 3 pay as you go microsim to use in the UK and have been told that Orange have a similar plan here and it is simple to buy the card and replace one for the other buying top up cards wherever they are sold, no need for credit cards as it was a major factor in my purchase - I have a UK credit card with a French registered address and couldn't even buy aps, and had to use a Gift Voucher route!

    Is this money laundering gone mad or what? I can use my cc for purchases all over the world for everything except buying from Apple!

  5. #64
    iPF Novice
    Member #
    33854
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by iPadLovr View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Stefx View Post
    Yeah I did cancel it.
    After 60 days of inactivity, the acount is automatically deleted.

    Did you look at the "international data package" options? »Ridiculous... 200$ for 20MB lol.
    Latest high tech technology with dark ages plan structure.
    G'day I had an issue with my roaming charges as I travel a lot here in Europe and averaged 300 € per month. I have opted for wabnet as they cover my area.

    Best of luck
    ipadLovr
    Travelling to Germany [only] in month of May. What are the best options for MicroSim's there and data carriers? Only need for about 3 weeks. Any other suggestions appreciated.

    Thanks

  6. #65
    iPad Junkie!
    Member #
    7131
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    187
    This new IPad 2 where you are tied to a carrier is a bit perplexing to me. Does this work like phone now?
    If so, what does that mean for traveling with the iPad?

  7. #66
    iPad Fan!
    Member #
    36478
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    hanoi
    Posts
    5
    we just got back from the US and I had no issues using a Canadian American Express Card to activate my Ipad
    All I did was use the local ATT@T corps stores address for Billing and Usage info and My name and Amex # the the system took about 2 minutes to activate the account.

  8. #67
    iPad Fan
    Member #
    6858
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    291
    Quote Originally Posted by Biggysmallz View Post
    This new IPad 2 where you are tied to a carrier is a bit perplexing to me. Does this work like phone now?
    If so, what does that mean for traveling with the iPad?
    It's not really tied/locked...
    Verizon uses the CDMA technology for its wireless system, while AT&T uses the more common GSM technology.
    From what I understand, there's a CDMA iPad2 and a GSM iPad2.

    So, a Canadian GSM iPad2 should work on the US AT&T network, but not on Verizon

  9. #68
    iPad Junkie!
    Member #
    7131
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    187
    Quote Originally Posted by Stefx View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Biggysmallz View Post
    This new IPad 2 where you are tied to a carrier is a bit perplexing to me. Does this work like phone now?
    If so, what does that mean for traveling with the iPad?
    It's not really tied/locked...
    Verizon uses the CDMA technology for its wireless system, while AT&T uses the more common GSM technology.
    From what I understand, there's a CDMA iPad2 and a GSM iPad2.

    So, a Canadian GSM iPad2 should work on the US AT&T network, but not on Verizon
    Good to know.
    Thanks.

  10. #69
    iPad Fan!
    Member #
    41684
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by mrphantuan
    we just got back from the US and I had no issues using a Canadian American Express Card to activate my Ipad
    All I did was use the local ATT@T corps stores address for Billing and Usage info and My name and Amex # the the system took about 2 minutes to activate the account.
    If anyone has solved the issue of using a Canadian VISA card to purchase ATT data plan, I'd love to know.

    Thanks

  11. #70
    iPad Fan
    Member #
    6858
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    291
    Quote Originally Posted by Phil_Legault View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by mrphantuan
    we just got back from the US and I had no issues using a Canadian American Express Card to activate my Ipad
    All I did was use the local ATT@T corps stores address for Billing and Usage info and My name and Amex # the the system took about 2 minutes to activate the account.
    If anyone has solved the issue of using a Canadian VISA card to purchase ATT data plan, I'd love to know.

    Thanks
    Me too. I don't have an Amex but I have a Canadian Visa.
    In Sept 2010 AT&T did not accept my canadian Visa but accepted a US Visa gift card


+ Reply to Thread
Page 7 of 11 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Traveling with the iPad
    By iDan in forum iPad General Discussions
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 04-08-2010, 09:56 PM

Search tags for this page

at&t sim card for ipad 2 prepaid
,
how put credit timeon my ipad for travelling
,

ipad cellular data settings payment info

,

myfy

,

traveling with ipad

,
traveling with ipad 4
,
traveling with ipad internet
,
travelling to usa from vancouver with ipad2
Click on a term to search for related topics.