Welcome to iPadForums.net Guest - Click Here to Register

Travel to Russia with ipad

This is a discussion on Travel to Russia with ipad within the iPad Travel Forum forums, part of the Apple iPad Discussions category; Hi, I have an AT&T iPad 2. I am traveling to Russia next week and was going to buy the international data plan for Russia ...

iPadForums.net is the original Apple iPad Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    iPF Novice
    Member #
    99540
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    21

    Travel to Russia with ipad

    Hi, I have an AT&T iPad 2. I am traveling to Russia next week and was going to buy the international data plan for
    Russia but AT&T does not have a data plan for this country. I called them and they could not help me. I am sure I
    Can get a connection just dont have any clue how to do it. Can anyone help me? Thanks

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    Administrator
    Member #
    48665
    Liked
    948 times
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    23,488
    Quote Originally Posted by Gabbysouth
    Hi, I have an AT&T iPad 2. I am traveling to Russia next week and was going to buy the international data plan for
    Russia but AT&T does not have a data plan for this country. I called them and they could not help me. I am sure I
    Can get a connection just dont have any clue how to do it. Can anyone help me? Thanks
    Each country will have their own telcos. You will have to find a Russian one. I assume you have a 3G iPad that is. Hopefully someone here will know where you can get one

    Sent from my iPad using iPF

    Please read the Forum Rules
    iPad Air 128gb Wifi/Cellular - iPad 2 64gb Wifi/Cellular - iPad Mini 32gb Wifi/Cellular - iPhone 5 - Apple TV - MacBook Pro 15" - Time Capsule - Airport Express

  4. #3
    iPF Novice
    Member #
    99540
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    21
    thanks, it was bizarre to me that ATT could not help, yes the ipad is 3G. I can't seem to find an answer thru google either

  5. #4
    iPad Addict
    Member #
    121
    Liked
    87 times
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Seattle, Washington USA
    Posts
    1,293
    Haven't traveled to Russia since I've gotten an iPad but I made several trips there over the previous couple of years. You should be able to purchase a SIM card at the airport or in a city where you're staying when you arrive. You can also purchase a SIM card prior to your travel that should work. Just try googling "SIM card Russia" and you can find what you're looking for. You might want to filter the results to see if you can find references to a "data plan."
    Last edited by jsh1120; 11-16-2011 at 10:47 AM.

  6. #5
    iPF Novice
    Member #
    99540
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    21
    wow, really? i know people do this with phones...I am a complete neophyte in terms of world travel! So I am excited and nervous and this trip was a key reason I bought the ipad cause I wanted to be connected. Will google your suggestions. Thanks

  7. #6
    iPad Addict
    Member #
    121
    Liked
    87 times
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Seattle, Washington USA
    Posts
    1,293
    Sorry, I should have also mentioned that if you're staying in a hotel in a major city you will probably have access to either wifi or wired internet. (That's especially likely since you're a foreigner and can stay in only some hotels. I took three trips to Novosibirsk a couple of years ago and in that city of 1.6 million people, only 6 hotels were open to foreigners. All had wifi.) If that fits your situation, you're golden. However, if the hotel has only wired internet access you'll have a problem connecting the iPad. In that case, you'll need a device that connects to the wired (ethernet) cable in your room and provides a wifi connection for your iPad. I have no experience with the device cited below, but it's the sort of portable router that you'll need.

    Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: TRENDnet 300Mbps Wireless-N Travel Router Kit TEW-654TR (Black)

  8. #7
    iPF Novice
    Member #
    99540
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    21
    Thanks jsh1120, that sounds complicated. I am not staying at a hotel, we are staying at a tourist apartment. Sounds like I better just get myself to an ATT store this morning. Appreciate your help!

  9. #8
    iPF Novice
    Member #
    99540
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    21
    I have resolved this issue! I went to the AT&T store and he told me that the iPad does work in Russia (of course) and that I just had
    To buy the international data plan. It does not matter that the country is not listed in the list of countries. Protip: always go to the store when phone support can't help.

  10. #9
    iPF Novice
    Member #
    106446
    Liked
    2 times
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    30
    Don't forget to bring an international power adapter. :-)

    Sent from my iPad using iPF

  11. #10
    iPF Noob
    Member #
    144035
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    saratov,russia
    Posts
    1
    can i use the 3g version of ipad2 in russia if i buy from either uk or usa?? please help???


Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Using an iPad in Russia
    By Al Rogers in forum iPad General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-16-2011, 09:02 AM
  2. Hallo from Russia!
    By Tiberius in forum International iPad Users
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-21-2011, 07:19 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-25-2011, 01:13 PM
  4. Best way to buy iPAD in Russia?
    By baltic in forum International iPad Users
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-20-2011, 05:31 AM
  5. russia
    By alanbrown in forum New Member Introductions - Site Assistance
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-18-2011, 11:25 PM

Search tags for this page

at&t ipad russia
,

can i use my ipad in russia

,

does ipad work in russia

,
ipad working in russia
,

using ipad in russia

,
using my ipad in russia
,
will ipad work in russia
,

will my ipad work in russia

Click on a term to search for related topics.