I don't understand why you cannot delete your apps which you have purchased. Did you restrict any of your apps in any way by going into your settings?
I have never lost my pictures after restarting my iPad. That shouldn't happen and am wondering if you did a reset to factory settings?
What version operating system are you running? I have an iPad 2 and it is on 6.1.2.
Finally, did you set up your iPad when you received it...or did someone else?