Welcome to iPadForums.net Guest - Click Here to Register

Somewhat lost after re-installing Windows and iTunes

This is a discussion on Somewhat lost after re-installing Windows and iTunes within the iPad Help forums, part of the Apple iPad Discussions category; Hello all.... I recently had to re-install Windows 7 64-bit on my computer that I use to sync my iPad 1 with due to some ...

iPadForums.net is the original Apple iPad Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    iPF Novice
    Member #
    15403
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    60

    Somewhat lost after re-installing Windows and iTunes

    Hello all....

    I recently had to re-install Windows 7 64-bit on my computer that I use to sync my iPad 1 with due to some slowness and instability.

    I started out by doing a complete iTunes backup that spanned 3 DVD's.

    After re-installing Windows, I downloaded and installed iTunes from the internet. I then inserted each DVD, one by one, and let iTunes take over, and said YES when it asked if I wanted to restore from the backup.

    Now, when I plugged my iPad in for the first tiime, it told me that it was synced to another iTunes library, so, I selected "Transfer Purchases" because I had read that was the proper choice in this case.

    Now, however, everytime I plug in, it keeps telling me that the iPad is still syned with another library and only gives me the choice to Erase and Sync or Cancel.

    I was under the impression that doing the backup to disc and then restore from disc was going to prevent this from happening. Did I do something wrong? I am jailbroke on 4.3.3, and do not want to lose my jailbreak.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    iPad Junkie
    Member #
    72622
    Liked
    27 times
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    816
    Quote Originally Posted by glen4cindy View Post
    Hello all....

    I recently had to re-install Windows 7 64-bit on my computer that I use to sync my iPad 1 with due to some slowness and instability.cool..

    I started out by doing a complete iTunes backup that spanned 3 DVD's.very good, you saved everything in iTunes..

    After re-installing Windows, I downloaded and installed iTunes from the internet. I then inserted each DVD, one by one, and let iTunes take over, and said YES when it asked if I wanted to restore from the backup.you did good, exactly how it should be done..

    Now, when I plugged my iPad in for the first tiime, it told me that it was synced to another iTunes library, so, I selected "Transfer Purchases" because I had read that was the proper choice in this case. Now also transferring purchases is a good practice, but the backup you did with the dvd's covered that, no problem transferring purchases though.. Did you authorize new iTunes?...

    Now, however, everytime I plug in, it keeps telling me that the iPad is still syned with another library and only gives me the choice to Erase and Sync or Cancel. Not a problem, this is for media(music, videos, apps), but since you backed up with the DVD's, you can choose the erase and sync, you just have to select everything again, since you backed them up from the DVD's to your new iTunes...but before you proceed on doing anything, connect iPad to iTunes and do a backup, this is important, and would usually back up with a normal sync...

    I was under the impression that doing the backup to disc and then restore from disc was going to prevent this from happening. Did I do something wrong? I am jailbroke on 4.3.3, and do not want to lose my jailbreak.you will not lose your jailbreak, iPad 1 will always be jailbreakable, now...an iPad can only be synced to 1 iTunes, in your case, its a new iTunes, that will be your official iTunes again...

    Thanks in advance.
    did you save your 4.3.3 shsh blobs with tiny umbrella?
    Waiting for that “Next Thing” means you’d never buy anything.

  4. #3
    iPF Novice
    Member #
    15403
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    60
    Thank you,

    I will do that now.

    Also, before the wipe, I deauthorized the computer, and then when I installed iTunes again after the wipe, I authorized again. I have made that mistake more than once before and ended up running out of my 5, and having to deauthorize everything and start again.


Home | Forum | Active Topics | What's New

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Windows Backup / lost folders
    By rickdell in forum iPad Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-02-2011, 01:04 AM
  2. Re-installing iTunes to an external harddrive?
    By Shakedaddy in forum iPad Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-23-2011, 07:35 AM
  3. iTunes problem - lost 3 films
    By DM51 in forum iPad Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-04-2011, 04:59 AM
  4. iPad vs iTunes on Windows and iTunes on Apple
    By lionman in forum iPad General Discussions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-21-2010, 02:57 PM
  5. Lost icon for iTunes and Apps
    By Jill in forum iPad Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-05-2010, 03:38 PM

Search tags for this page

how to sync iphone after reinstall windows
,
how to sync iphone after reinstalling itunes
,
how to sync the ipad after reinstalling itunes
,
reinstalled windows and itunes how attach iphone
,

reinstalled windows itunes sync

,

sync iphone after reinstall itunes

,

sync iphone after reinstalling windows

,

syncing iphone after reinstalling windows

Click on a term to search for related topics.