Where is says USERNAME, that's the name you use on your computer...
Just start out in your home folder and you will see a list of other folders like Documents, Downloads, Photos, etc.
Last edited by iPadCharlie; 11-05-2010 at 10:54 AM.
Backup in progress... fingers crossed!
Okay....so we deleted 13K items in that hidden folder ~ and I am, once again, playing with iTunes.
Starting syncing at 8:12AM. We.shall.see. I just want to go to itunes to update the OS. I don't care if I ever sync or back up again.
Has to be a way.
Sweet Marie, If this fails I would uninstall itunes on your PC, reboot and reinstall iTunes.. then reconnect your ipad and see if you can get a good sync/backup.
Would you? That was one of my next steps, Brenn. But tell me ~ would we lose all of our songs on iTunes? My DD will kill me.
In 12 min this will have been going on for two hours, and it is not even half way through.
Should I let it keep going? How am I going to know if it works, B? Try it again at another four hours? LOL!
I am not sure if this is a good idea,but when I get too frustrated and don't need to backup my iPad,I use a software called Backoff which turns off the auto backup function of iTunes temporarily,saving me from hour long backups,hence that decreases the time for a complete sync process,but this isn't recommended. In my experience when you uninstall iTunes nothing gets deleted in your iTunes library(I am not so sure but in my case my library remains intact when I uninstall iTunes and install updates or some weird reason downgrade to older versions). But you know I am not even saying this. Btw,back off when used to turn off the backup the iTunes will launch in install mode,that is it will seem like it's getting reinstalled by itself but nothing of that sort happens literally,it'll show that preparing to install thingy and then launch the iTunes without anything changed. This reinstall thingy happens only once. You'll need the .net frame work 2 to run back off for windows. Once again this is just an information that might help by reducing the huge auto backup process time waste(when you don't need it),and only use it if you are feeling over adventurous.
P.S: This only disables the auto backup that happens before the sync process,but if you want to backup you can do it manually but right clicking the iPad in itunes and selecting backup.
Last edited by iwhat; 11-05-2010 at 01:37 PM. Reason: Update