Welcome to iPadForums.net Guest - Click Here to Register

E-mails delete on all devices if deleted on one

This is a discussion on E-mails delete on all devices if deleted on one within the iPad Help forums, part of the Apple iPad Discussions category; I have just set up AT&T U-verse and have added e-mail accounts to all my devices including iPad and iPhone. However, when I delete an ...

iPadForums.net is the original Apple iPad Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    iPF Noob
    Member #
    288223
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    2

    E-mails delete on all devices if deleted on one

    I have just set up AT&T U-verse and have added e-mail accounts to all my devices including iPad and iPhone. However, when I delete an e-mail on one device, it deletes it on all of them. I want to keep messages on the devices as both my wife and I use them and need to see our messages independently. Under Settings>Mail>AT&T>Account>Advanced, there is no setting for "Delete from Server" which is what the help from Apple states. I only have options for Mailbox Behaviors (Draft, Sent, Deleted), Deleted Messages (Remove), and S/MIME. I have set Deleted Mailbox to go to the Deleted Messages Mailbox on the server and the Remove setting to Never. I cannot change the setting under Deleted Mailbox to Inbox as this is not highlighted.
    Has anyone encountered this before? Is there a way to set up my mailboxes to prevent this from occurring?

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    iPF Expert
    Member #
    258192
    Liked
    1702 times
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Apetlon, Austria
    Posts
    8,675
    Quote Originally Posted by zodate View Post
    I have just set up AT&T U-verse and have added e-mail accounts to all my devices including iPad and iPhone. However, when I delete an e-mail on one device, it deletes it on all of them. I want to keep messages on the devices as both my wife and I use them and need to see our messages independently. Under Settings>Mail>AT&T>Account>Advanced, there is no setting for "Delete from Server" which is what the help from Apple states. I only have options for Mailbox Behaviors (Draft, Sent, Deleted), Deleted Messages (Remove), and S/MIME. I have set Deleted Mailbox to go to the Deleted Messages Mailbox on the server and the Remove setting to Never. I cannot change the setting under Deleted Mailbox to Inbox as this is not highlighted.
    Has anyone encountered this before? Is there a way to set up my mailboxes to prevent this from occurring?
    Hi, zodate! Welcome to iPF!
    When you delete a mail, it is still on your iPad, in the Trash mailbox. You should still be able to read it.
    You don't need to delete messages when you read them, you could put them into the Archive mailbox, and delete them later, when you don't need them any more. That isn't done in Settings, but in your Mails.
    Or you could create a new mailbox in your mail account, where you move your messages that still need to be read.
    Last edited by J. A.; 04-18-2013 at 02:09 PM.
    Johanna A.
    You will recognize your own path when you come upon it, because you will suddenly have all the energy and imagination you will ever need. ~ Jerry Gillies

  4. #3
    iPF Legend
    Member #
    28530
    Liked
    1526 times
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Walla Walla, WA
    Posts
    15,436
    Sounds like you have an IMAP or Exchange account type. This is normal behavior for this kind of account. All email folders are maintained and synced on/to the server. Usually, this is also the preferred behavior. When email is downloaded and deleted to individual devices (as it is in POP accounts) it can be difficult to figure out what device an email will still exist on (say if you want to retrieve something from Trash or the Sent folder.

    Two options.

    You can either see if your provider has a POP 3 option and set your accounts up that way; with the leave on server option enabled.

    Or you can adjust to how the new account works.

    My suggestion is to create two extra folders in your IMAP account. Name them something like HIS and HERS. When you are done with an email that you think your wife will also need to see, instead of deleting it move it to the HERS folder. She can do the same for emails she wants to leave for your consideration.

    When you review your HIS folder, you can do whatever you believe appropriate with the email in full confidence your wife has already read it

    You can also use the Flag option in mail to mark what you consider important for each other, (if your account supports flags). And if you both want input on an email you are replying to, the first person can save it as a Draft instead of sending it.

    That's all I can think of.

    Normally it's best to just each have your own account and forward what you want to share to each other; but it sounds like you are happy with and used to sharing an account. In which case it's just a matter of coming up with and agreeing on a system that works for both of you. You obviously already had a system that worked for you with your old account. You just need one that works best with the new account type.

    Good luck.


Home | Forum | Active Topics | What's New

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Deleted e mails
    By jacsmum in forum iPad 2 Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-18-2013, 11:49 AM
  2. How do I delete an app and have it stay deleted?
    By autumnbaby in forum iPad Help
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 07-20-2011, 02:44 AM
  3. Can't delete e mails or send to trash
    By Paul C in forum New Member Introductions - Site Assistance
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-04-2011, 04:08 PM
  4. May not delete nor send mails
    By Aloha in forum iPad Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-22-2010, 04:18 AM
  5. Deleted e-mails and new mail notification ?
    By Ian B in forum iPad Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-07-2010, 09:57 PM

Search tags for this page

can i delete email from other devices when i delete from my ipod

,

how can i delete emails on one device that will erase them from my other apple devices?

,

how to delete delete emails on all apple devices

,
how to have emails delete from all apple devices
,
if i delete email on one device will it delete email on all devices
,

if i deleted my emails in one device will my emails be also deleted in other devices?

,

is email deleted from one device or all

,
my email deletes on all my devices when i delete on one
Click on a term to search for related topics.

Tags for this Thread