This is a discussion on Stupidly Updated to 4.2.1, and Now Need Clarification within the iPad Hacking forums, part of the Apple iPad Discussions category; Originally Posted by SweetPoison Originally Posted by Tinman ] You just have to be careful about rebooting. But you don't need 3.2.2 BLOBs to jailbreak ...
Great info; thank you Michael! A couple more questions... iTunes requires an update to iTunes 10.1 before you install 4.2.1. Will TinyUnbrella still work with iTunes 10.1 or did Apple close the door on it with the latest software? Is there a way to archive iTunes 10 so it can be used to downgrade at a later date or do I need a computer with the older version on it to be on stand-by? I'm on PC's, not Macs.
You can usually find older copies of iTunes around if you need it.
But you shouldn't need it for this--10.1 will work with 4.2.1 and 3.2.2.
As for TinyUmbrella it will work with the latest iTunes no problem. Just be sure to download latest version. When you run it log at the "log" of what it is doing... it will say if a new version is available.
Kinda like save the whales, save the planet, save the ta-tas...
Last edited by RussW; 12-05-2010 at 07:40 PM.
OK, I ran TinyUmbrella; but got something unexpected. Remember, I'm running iOS 3.2.2. It said it cannot save my SHSH for 3.2.2; and that I'm "too late". It says it did save SHSH for 4.2.1 and 4.2b3.(***??) What happened? I was not 'requesting' anything from Cydia yet it seems to think I was requesting the 3.2.2 SHSH from their server; which I was not. Is this an error because my iPad is definitely running 3.2.2 and I never requested a firmware update for it.
Does iTunes need to be up and running before I open up TinyUmbrella.exe? If so, is that what I did wrong (not running iTunes)?
Last edited by RussW; 12-06-2010 at 02:02 AM.
Sorry, Apple stopped signing ECIDs for 3.2.2.
So you can no longer obtain your Signature HaSH (SHSH) for 3.2.2.
What this means is that, you can NEVER downgrade to 3.2.2 anymore, if you ever choose to update.
Why does Apple make their product non-downgradeable? What if I update to 4.2 and decide I hate the changes they made? What good does it do to have a "restore to original settings" button if they won't allow you to go back to it's original configuration??
One reason is so that they can block old jailbreaks.
In case they make an OS version so secure that hackers couldn't find a vulnerability for years, anyone who upgrades loses the ability to jailbreak.
The restore is still there if your device's OS breaks, so that you can restore to the latest version. Sadly, it's not intended for undoing OS updates in case you disliked something.