It was just a summary of the preceding paragraph. No hidden menus or special codes.
The idea is that it would be easier to clean things up if there is only one place to do the cleaning. If the iPad and iPhone are empty of songs, you wont' have to worry about syncing songs back to iTunes after you delete them. Once the iTunes library is the way you want it, then you can sync what you want back to the devices. A clean start.