Wife and I each have an iPad and share same iTunes account.
Whenever we add a new note, it is emailed to us and the note is saved on both iPads
If one of us deletes a note, it is deleted on both iPads
I went to Settings, Mail and turned the notes off, all our notes disappeared. Switched it back on and our notes re-appeared.
Not sure how to control Notes