Welcome to iPadForums.net Guest - Click Here to Register

How can I get Yahoo (and other sites) to stop asking me to "Use my current location"?

This is a discussion on How can I get Yahoo (and other sites) to stop asking me to "Use my current location"? within the iPad 3 Forum forums, part of the Apple iPad Discussions category; Originally Posted by everett2 I went to settings>general>restrictions. All items listed show being "ON". near the bottom under "privacy" is an item called "Location Services". ...

iPadForums.net is the original Apple iPad Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 15 of 15
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: How can I get Yahoo (and other sites) to stop asking me to "Use my current location"?

  1. #11
    iPF Expert
    Member #
    258192
    Liked
    1707 times
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Apetlon, Austria
    Posts
    8,686
    Quote Originally Posted by everett2 View Post
    I went to settings>general>restrictions. All items listed show being "ON". near the bottom under "privacy" is an item called "Location Services". When I clicked on that, nothing happens. If I go from "settings" directly to "privacy," the "location services" shows as being "on". If I then click on "location services" it shows the various apps that are on. I have them all shown as "on". In view of this, why does YAHOO still show the message about using location? I use Safari so I tried turing just that one off. No difference. I turned off all "location services. Again, no change. It appears that this YAHOO message it going to appear no matter what settings I have. Any other ideas?
    I rarely use Location Services on my devices. When I open Google's website, it's always asking for my location (I simply ignore it.):


    How can I get Yahoo (and other sites) to stop asking me to "Use my current location"?-image-173092353.jpg

    Interesting enough, even if I enable L. S. for Safari, it still asks for my location, until I tap "Use precise location".


    How can I get Yahoo (and other sites) to stop asking me to "Use my current location"?-image-3262634230.jpg
    Then it will show me where I am. Maybe it's the same with Yahoo in Safari. Until you don't really use your location, it will always ask you to do so. (Just guessing.)
    Barçamad likes this.
    Johanna A.
    You will recognize your own path when you come upon it, because you will suddenly have all the energy and imagination you will ever need. ~ Jerry Gillies

  2. Ads


  3. #12
    iPF Noob
    Member #
    306686
    Liked
    1 times
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    North Olmsted, OH
    Posts
    5
    I do not use YAHOO mail. I just use YAHOO as my default search engine from Safari. Under location services, I turned Safari off. I still get the location message. As I mentioned earlier, I even turned off all location services and still get the message.

  4. #13
    iPF Noob
    Member #
    306686
    Liked
    1 times
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    North Olmsted, OH
    Posts
    5
    I think it's time to quit asking about this. I've tried all that has been suggested and nothing turns off Yahoo from asking for location permission. One thing that I have noticed is that while in most cases, all that is offered is to say "yes," on occasion under some settings, I am given the choice of saying "yes" or "no." Not that it makes any difference, since it always has to ask. Maybe something else will show up when the next version is released.

  5. #14
    iPF Novice
    Member #
    193422
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    19
    I get this Location Services issue too and there is no way to turn this message off anywhere and is a nag every time I open yahoo. I'm hoping a future IOS update will take out this useless and annoying screen.

  6. #15
    iPF Noob
    Member #
    306686
    Liked
    1 times
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    North Olmsted, OH
    Posts
    5
    I guess it is comforting to know I'm not alone. Even my teen-age grandson didn't have an answer, though it doesn't happen on his iPad. My guess is that if I moved to another search engine, it would not appear. I think my grandson uses Bing. Maybe I'll try it out one of these days, but having spent two days and an hour on the phone with the Canon Support folks to connect one of their printers, I'm not in the mood to try anything else right now. Anyway, thanks for the note.


Home | Forum | Active Topics | What's New

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Yahoo set up error "server unavailable"
    By sincole in forum iPad Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-22-2012, 04:41 AM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-29-2012, 04:55 PM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-20-2012, 10:46 PM
  4. Incorrect username/password "imap.apple.mail.yahoo.com"
    By blac2k8cs in forum iPad Hacking
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-25-2011, 02:42 PM

Search tags for this page

how can i stop yahoo location on ipad

,
how to stop website from asking location
,

stop asking for my location

,

stop yahoo from asking for location

,

stop yahoo from asking me to turn on location services

,

stop yahoo from asking to use my location

,

why does yahoo ask to enable location

,

yahoo asking for location on new ipad

Click on a term to search for related topics.