Welcome to iPadForums.net Guest - Click Here to Register

How much Memory is reserved for OS.

This is a discussion on How much Memory is reserved for OS. within the iPad 3 Forum forums, part of the Apple iPad Discussions category; Hi guys, I'm new to the apple world (yeah it took me sometime to catch up with the world). Just bought ipad3 and it was ...

iPadForums.net is the original Apple iPad Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By scifan57

Thread: How much Memory is reserved for OS.

  1. #1
    iPF Noob
    Member #
    213048
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    2

    How much Memory is reserved for OS.

    Hi guys,
    I'm new to the apple world (yeah it took me sometime to catch up with the world). Just bought ipad3 and it was working fine until the system crashed for some reason, got the replacement now have a feeling that something is wrong with this one as well. It may well be psychological but particularly the system is showing 28gb as total memory out of which 27gb is free (off course I just replaced it). My question is shouldnt it show system memory as 32gb as that's what i bought or the 4gb is for OS?

    My view is even if 4gb is for OS it should show 32gb as total memory?

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    iPad Fan
    Member #
    33347
    Liked
    12 times
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    260
    I'm not exactly sure what mine read straight out of the box but right now it shows capacity of 57.2 with 26.3 free. Now having the 64g unit I know the OS and preinstalled apps are to be added to the 57.2gb so maybe if I deleted all of my email then both the 57.2 and the 26.3 would go up but I'm not positive on the 57.2 going up I'm just guessing mind you.

  4. #3
    Moderator
    Member #
    131244
    Liked
    1425 times
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Regina,Canada
    Posts
    18,543
    Quote Originally Posted by Ipad_rookie
    Hi guys,
    I'm new to the apple world (yeah it took me sometime to catch up with the world). Just bought ipad3 and it was working fine until the system crashed for some reason, got the replacement now have a feeling that something is wrong with this one as well. It may well be psychological but particularly the system is showing 28gb as total memory out of which 27gb is free (off course I just replaced it). My question is shouldnt it show system memory as 32gb as that's what i bought or the 4gb is for OS?

    My view is even if 4gb is for OS it should show 32gb as total memory?
    28gb available storage is correct for a factory fresh iPad with nothing sorted in memory.The missing 4gb is taken up by the OS,stock apps,etc.
    This is a screenshot showing the total available storage on my 32gb ipad3 and how much of it I've used.
    How much Memory is reserved for OS.-image-2802348660.jpg
    Last edited by scifan57; 06-04-2012 at 01:58 PM.
    twerppoet likes this.
    scifan57, iPad Forums Moderator
    Please read the Forum rules.http://www.ipadforums.net/forum-rule...ease-read.html

  5. #4
    Super Moderator
    Member #
    139850
    Liked
    20 times
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    639
    Quote Originally Posted by Ipad_rookie View Post
    Hi guys,
    I'm new to the apple world (yeah it took me sometime to catch up with the world). Just bought ipad3 and it was working fine until the system crashed for some reason, got the replacement now have a feeling that something is wrong with this one as well. It may well be psychological but particularly the system is showing 28gb as total memory out of which 27gb is free (off course I just replaced it). My question is shouldnt it show system memory as 32gb as that's what i bought or the 4gb is for OS?

    My view is even if 4gb is for OS it should show 32gb as total memory?
    If it showed 32GB available then, when you got down to 4GB remaining you would not be able to put anything else on it because it would be at capacity.

    Edit: Never mind, I get what you are saying, you want to total capacity to indicate 32GB. I guess Apple just wants you to know how much space is available to work with.
    Last edited by seneca18; 06-04-2012 at 05:32 PM.
    iPhone 4s 64GB White (Jailbroken), The "New iPad" 16GB Black (Stock), Past devices: iPad 2, HTC Hero, HTC Evo, HTC Evo 3D, ASUS Transformer.

  6. #5
    iPF Noob
    Member #
    213048
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    2
    Thanks guys....


Home | Forum | Active Topics | What's New

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. memory
    By feldmeir in forum iPad 3 Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-08-2012, 09:15 AM
  2. Improve Your Memory With The 4 Most Powerful Memory Techniques!
    By MissBanana in forum iPad App Announcements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-28-2011, 01:17 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-08-2011, 11:42 AM
  4. How Much Memory to Buy?
    By AE1M in forum iPad 2 Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-11-2011, 08:40 PM
  5. Has anyone gone in and reserved since Friday?
    By Crimguy in forum iPad General Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-03-2010, 06:55 PM

Search tags for this page

how much is system memory on ipad 4
,

how much memory does ipad os use

,

how much memory does the ipad operating system use

,
how much space does ipad os take up
,
how much space is free on the ipad
,

ipad 4 system memory

,
ipad memory reserved for os
,

ipad os memory usage

Click on a term to search for related topics.