Welcome to iPadForums.net Guest - Click Here to Register

Msm chipset

This is a discussion on Msm chipset within the iPad 2 Forum forums, part of the Apple iPad Discussions category; MSM CHIPSET, US (AT&T) Remove and replace with CH (Swisscom). What other steps are required to get back up and running after swapping chipsets? Sent ...

iPadForums.net is the original Apple iPad Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Msm chipset

  1. #1
    iPF Noob
    Member #
    230321
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    3

    Msm chipset

    MSM CHIPSET, US (AT&T) Remove and replace with CH (Swisscom). What other steps are required to get back up and running after swapping chipsets?

    Sent from my iPad using iPF

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    iPad Fan
    Member #
    148239
    Liked
    2 times
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    142
    Need more specifics. Is your iPad 3G/4G? how did you get in to change the chipsets?

  4. #3
    iPF Noob
    Member #
    230321
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    3
    Yes my iPad 2 is 3G and wi-fi. I've practiced using a paper clip to remove the AT&T Msm chipset. I'll be in Zurich tomorrow and hopefully purchase a Swisscom gsm chipset to get back up and running. I was just wondering what type of processes or steps I'll run into to get it fired back up, so that we can use Maps and 3G to get to our different destinations. One friend of mine said I may have to sink the iPad with my wife's laptop via iTunes. Which we can do if we run into any problems. Do you know of any other glitches that may occur when I put this foreign chipset into my American AT & T iPad?
    Thanks for your interest .

    Sent from my iPad using iPF

  5. #4
    Moderator
    Member #
    131244
    Liked
    1416 times
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Regina,Canada
    Posts
    18,508
    Quote Originally Posted by Rbtberger
    Yes my iPad 2 is 3G and wi-fi. I've practiced using a paper clip to remove the AT&T Msm chipset. I'll be in Zurich tomorrow and hopefully purchase a Swisscom gsm chipset to get back up and running. I was just wondering what type of processes or steps I'll run into to get it fired back up, so that we can use Maps and 3G to get to our different destinations. One friend of mine said I may have to sink the iPad with my wife's laptop via iTunes. Which we can do if we run into any problems. Do you know of any other glitches that may occur when I put this foreign chipset into my American AT & T iPad?
    Thanks for your interest .

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
    Do you mean the sim card? If so, let us know how it works out.
    scifan57, iPad Forums Moderator
    Please read the Forum rules.http://www.ipadforums.net/forum-rule...ease-read.html

  6. #5
    iPF Noob
    Member #
    230321
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Rbtberger View Post
    Yes my iPad 2 is 3G and wi-fi. I've practiced using a paper clip to remove the AT&T Msm chipset. I'll be in Zurich tomorrow and hopefully purchase a Swisscom gsm chipset to get back up and running. I was just wondering what type of processes or steps I'll run into to get it fired back up, so that we can use Maps and 3G to get to our different destinations. One friend of mine said I may have to sink the iPad with my wife's laptop via iTunes. Which we can do if we run into any problems. Do you know of any other glitches that may occur when I put this foreign chipset into my American AT & T iPad?
    Thanks for your interest .

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
    Well we made it to Zurich from California, took appr 11 hours flight time, appr 6000 miles flying @ 34000 ft, hitting
    speeds up to 650 mph, in an Airbus M330. Upon arrival we immediately went to Swisscom at the Airport to purchase a
    one month data plan for our iPad 2 with 3G. I swapped out the gsm chipset (simms) from AT&T and inserted the Simm
    from Swisscom. To get up and running I simply typed in the 4 digit pin number from Swisscom and I was online
    via 3G. Cost was 40 Swiss francs for 2gig data plan for 3G Internet services here in Zurich. So far so good!
    I just hope this same process works well when get to Milano, Italy and have to do it all over again. Happy trails!


Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-17-2011, 06:01 PM

Search tags for this page

chipsets in apple ipad
,
how to know what chipset is in my ipad
,

msm chipset

,
swiss chipset
Click on a term to search for related topics.