Welcome to iPadForums.net Guest - Click Here to Register

Upgrding

This is a discussion on Upgrding within the iPad 2 Forum forums, part of the Apple iPad Discussions category; Is there any risk of losing application or data to upgrading my IPad 2 from version 4.3.3 to 4.3.5 ? I did not Jailbreak my ...

iPadForums.net is the original Apple iPad Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Upgrding

  1. #1
    iPF Novice
    Member #
    106191
    Liked
    1 times
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    63

    Upgrding

    Is there any risk of losing application or data to upgrading my IPad 2 from version 4.3.3 to 4.3.5 ? I did not Jailbreak my system.

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    Super Moderator
    Member #
    29345
    Liked
    55 times
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Penarth, Wales, UK
    Posts
    1,996
    Minimal risk. But a couple of things.......

    1) always back up your device before upgrading incase you need to retrieve your info
    2) why not wait until iOS 5 is released tomorrow?
    Last edited by sjleworthy; 10-03-2011 at 01:03 PM.

  4. #3
    iPF Novice
    Member #
    106191
    Liked
    1 times
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    63
    Thanks, I will wait.

  5. #4
    iPF Novice
    Member #
    106191
    Liked
    1 times
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    63
    Does backup means sync. With laptop ?

  6. #5
    iPF Legend
    Member #
    28530
    Liked
    1519 times
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Walla Walla, WA
    Posts
    15,430
    Quote Originally Posted by Mahmud57 View Post
    Does backup means sync. With laptop ?
    Backup and sync are slightly different things, though both require a computer, at least fir now. Both happen automatically when you sync the iPad with iTunes.

    Sync has to do with your media and apps. When your iPad is connected to iTunes and selected there are a series of pages available to set syncing for a large range of content.

    Backups cover most data not covered by syncing. It includes thigs like the contents and settings of apps (not the apps themselves), system settings, contacts, calendars, picture roll, and much more. Unlike syncing there are almost no controls for backing up. If you sync, it does a backup, maintains only the most recent backup, and you can only restore the entire iPad from a backup, not specific apps or content.


Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

mp3skull

Click on a term to search for related topics.