Welcome to iPadForums.net Guest - Click Here to Register

3G indicator

This is a discussion on 3G indicator within the iPad 2 Forum forums, part of the Apple iPad Discussions category; As noted elsewhere, I have a pay as you go temp sim on my ipad 2 while I'm in transit. The 3G sign is present ...

iPadForums.net is the original Apple iPad Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: 3G indicator

  1. #1
    iPF Novice
    Member #
    96469
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Budapest / Beijing
    Posts
    22

    3G indicator

    As noted elsewhere, I have a pay as you go temp sim on my ipad 2 while I'm in transit. The 3G sign is present but quite often I'm getting a message which says that I'm not registered on a data service and so, can't get online. I'm guessing that this is a provider issue, not the ipad but before I steam into the local vodaphone shop, I thought I'd check that it isn't a known fault.
    ___________________
    regards, steve h

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    iPF Legend
    Member #
    27654
    Liked
    119 times
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    15,248
    I notice that you're travelling. Is this a roaming problem? Many cellular service providers require you to explicitly register for roaming and, of course, you have to have turned that on in 'Settings'

    Tim

  4. #3
    iPF Novice
    Member #
    96469
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Budapest / Beijing
    Posts
    22
    Tim, I bought the sim here in Hungary and will be changing it when I move on to China later this week so it's not a roaming issue. I guess I'll have to spend 2 hours waiting in line at the Vodaphone shop!
    ___________________
    regards, steve h

  5. #4
    iPF Legend
    Member #
    27654
    Liked
    119 times
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    15,248
    Sorry to hear that!

    Good luck.

    Tim

  6. #5
    iPad Noob!
    Member #
    97679
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    4
    I am having the same problem travelling within Europe. Specially outside of the UK.

  7. #6
    iPF Legend
    Member #
    27654
    Liked
    119 times
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    15,248
    Are you roaming? Have you spoken to your service provider to enable roaming and have you enabled it in the iPad's 'Settings' menu?

    Tim

  8. #7
    iPF Novice
    Member #
    96469
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Budapest / Beijing
    Posts
    22
    are you also with vodaphone, as a matter of interest?
    ___________________
    regards, steve h

  9. #8
    iPad Fan
    Member #
    61094
    Liked
    6 times
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    271
    Quote Originally Posted by hirschhs View Post
    Tim, I bought the sim here in Hungary and will be changing it when I move on to China later this week so it's not a roaming issue. I guess I'll have to spend 2 hours waiting in line at the Vodaphone shop!
    If it works the same way it does when I was in the USA a couple of weeks ago once you put the SIM into the iPad you then need to find a wifi connection (McDonalds if all else fails) and use wifii to get onto the SIM providers web site and register the card and maybe the plan. Once the card is registered you can then connect via 3G.

    The same basic procedure also applies here in Australia.

  10. #9
    iPad Fan
    Member #
    89227
    Liked
    7 times
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    295
    Quote Originally Posted by hirschhs
    Tim, I bought the sim here in Hungary and will be changing it when I move on to China later this week so it's not a roaming issue. I guess I'll have to spend 2 hours waiting in line at the Vodaphone shop!
    Or buy alternative carriers chip?

  11. #10
    iPF Novice
    Member #
    96469
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Budapest / Beijing
    Posts
    22
    So I only had to wait 10 minutes in the local V shop before a nice lady fiddled with my settings and off we went. ;-) Apparently something had not been set up correctly but unfortunately, I have no idea what since she was a bit secretive about it all...
    ___________________
    regards, steve h


Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. WiFi Indicator missing after JB.
    By kilofox in forum iPad Hacking
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-09-2012, 11:07 AM
  2. Battery indicator stuck
    By Shatnershairpiece in forum iPad 2 Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-27-2011, 09:41 AM
  3. iPad battery indicator %
    By Zanvetto in forum iPad General Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-22-2010, 09:03 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-17-2010, 09:03 AM
  5. Battery level indicator?
    By Checkpoint in forum iPad General Discussions
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 08-02-2010, 06:11 PM

Search tags for this page

3g indicator on ipad2

,
can i get temporarily connect via 3g in my ipad?
,
ipad2 3g indication
,

ipad2 3g indicator

,
new ipad 3g indicator
,

no 3g indicator on ipad 2

,
temorary 3g card for ipad 2
,

temporary 3g for ipad

Click on a term to search for related topics.