Welcome to iPadForums.net Guest - Click Here to Register

itunes icon on initial start up

This is a discussion on itunes icon on initial start up within the iPad 2 Forum forums, part of the Apple iPad Discussions category; I just got my first ipad 2. However in trying to set it up I can't seem to get past the itunes icon on initial ...

iPadForums.net is the original Apple iPad Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    iPad Noob!
    Member #
    46169
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    3

    itunes icon on initial start up

    I just got my first ipad 2. However in trying to set it up I can't seem to get past the itunes icon on initial start up. Probably a simple solution I just don;t know what I'm doing wrong. Any help is appreciated.

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    iPad Fan!
    Member #
    39964
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    11
    plug your ipad into your computer?

  4. #3
    iPF Legend
    Member #
    27654
    Liked
    119 times
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    15,248
    A new iPad needs to be plugged into your PC or Mac initially and you must have the latest Apple iTunes software installed on that PC or Mac. There is absolutely no way around this initial step. If you don't have the latest version of iTunes, you can download it for free from the Apple website. If you don't have access to a Mac or PC, then any Apple Store will do this for you.

    This step will initialise your iPad and transfer your email settings, contacts and other files from your PC to the iPad. It takes only a couple of minutes but saves a whole load of time subsequently - you won't have to manually set up your email etc.

    After this initial connection between your PC and iPad there is, theoretically at least, no need for them ever to be connected again - but most people do, in fact, connect them occasionally, if for no other reason than to back the iPad up.

    If you have any further questions about how to do this, don't hesitate to contact us....welcome to the Forum.....

    Tim

  5. #4
    Super Moderator
    Member #
    29345
    Liked
    55 times
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Penarth, Wales, UK
    Posts
    1,996
    Quote Originally Posted by Tim SPRACKLEN View Post
    A new iPad needs to be plugged into your PC or Mac initially and you must have the latest Apple iTunes software installed on that PC or Mac. There is absolutely no way around this initial step. If you don't have the latest version of iTunes, you can download it for free from the Apple website. If you don't have access to a Mac or PC, then any Apple Store will do this for you.

    This step will initialise your iPad and transfer your email settings, contacts and other files from your PC to the iPad. It takes only a couple of minutes but saves a whole load of time subsequently - you won't have to manually set up your email etc.


    Tim

    yes, first off you need to plug your device into a computer running an up to date version of itunes.

    but i got a question about something you said, specifically....

    Quote Originally Posted by Tim SPRACKLEN View Post

    This step will initialise your iPad and transfer your email settings, contacts and other files from your PC to the iPad.

    eh? this didn't happen for me. not manually or automatically.
    after initialising my device my contacts list on my ipad2 is currently empty and my 3 or 4 email settups i had to do manually from scratch. i have synced over some apps, vids and music, but nothing else has gone over.

    which beckons the questions, where would my pc get my contacts and email info from in the first place to copy it over? how would the pc know?
    Last edited by sjleworthy; 04-15-2011 at 02:15 AM.

  6. #5
    iPF Legend
    Member #
    27654
    Liked
    119 times
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    15,248
    Quote Originally Posted by sjleworthy View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Tim SPRACKLEN View Post
    A new iPad needs to be plugged into your PC or Mac initially and you must have the latest Apple iTunes software installed on that PC or Mac. There is absolutely no way around this initial step. If you don't have the latest version of iTunes, you can download it for free from the Apple website. If you don't have access to a Mac or PC, then any Apple Store will do this for you.

    This step will initialise your iPad and transfer your email settings, contacts and other files from your PC to the iPad. It takes only a couple of minutes but saves a whole load of time subsequently - you won't have to manually set up your email etc.


    Tim


    yes, first off you need to plug your device into a computer running an up to date version of itunes.

    but i got a question about something you said, specifically....

    Quote Originally Posted by Tim SPRACKLEN View Post

    This step will initialise your iPad and transfer your email settings, contacts and other files from your PC to the iPad.

    eh? this didn't happen for me. not manually or automatically.
    after initialising my device my contacts list on my ipad2 is currently empty and my 3 or 4 email settups i had to do manually from scratch. i have synced over some apps, vids and music, but nothing else has gone over.

    which beckons the questions, where would my pc get my contacts and email info from in the first place to copy it over? how would the pc know?
    If you use Windows Mail as your email client and Internet Explorer as your web browser it will copy over the mail accounts that you have set up in Windows Mail as well as the Contacts list that you use. Similarly it will copy over your Internet Explorer bookmarks.

    If you use Web Mail, then clearly it can't do this.

    Tim

  7. #6
    Super Moderator
    Member #
    29345
    Liked
    55 times
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Penarth, Wales, UK
    Posts
    1,996
    ah. ok. that explains it then.

    i use firefox as my browser and dont touch MS outlook or any other computer based mail server. mine are all online and on remove company servers.

  8. #7
    iPad Noob!
    Member #
    46169
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    3
    have downloaded the latest version. When I'm in itunes I click on the itunes store and my system tells me that an error has occured and that I should check network connections. I know I'm able to get on the internet as I already have pages open. Gonna go to the Apple Store at lunch today and see if maybe they can help?

  9. #8
    iPF Legend
    Member #
    27654
    Liked
    119 times
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    15,248
    Quote Originally Posted by coreybob View Post
    have downloaded the latest version. When I'm in itunes I click on the itunes store and my system tells me that an error has occured and that I should check network connections. I know I'm able to get on the internet as I already have pages open. Gonna go to the Apple Store at lunch today and see if maybe they can help?
    Did you connect your iPad to your PC with the supplied USB cable? If so, what happened? It should take you through the initialisation and setup procedure.

    Tim

  10. #9
    Super Moderator
    Member #
    29345
    Liked
    55 times
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Penarth, Wales, UK
    Posts
    1,996
    i also had problems upgrading the firmware this morning. half way through my usb connection dropped out. i had to restore

  11. #10
    iPad Noob!
    Member #
    46169
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    3
    Tim,

    I did connect to my pc at home with the supplied USB cable and nothing happens, other than it recognizes the ipad as a camera/scanner and asks which application I want to use to open it. None of them apply. I then go to programs and open itunes and that's as far as I can get. Thinking I should go to the itunes store I click on that and it tells me that an unexpected error has occurred, check network connections. I'm not able to connect to the internet thru itunes? I am baffled. I will say this, I'm not technologically advanced.


Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Small Slideshow Icon on start up
    By snoozee in forum iPad FAQ
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-27-2012, 05:05 AM
  2. Getting a head start on iTunes & apps
    By SunnyFL in forum iPad General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-25-2010, 09:52 PM
  3. Small slideshow icon appearing on start up
    By snoozee in forum iPad Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-19-2010, 07:46 PM
  4. auto start of itunes stopped working
    By jrw in forum iPad Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-02-2010, 07:30 PM
  5. Where did my App Store and Itunes icon go???
    By Finnedog in forum iPad General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-14-2010, 10:39 PM

Search tags for this page

how can i start my ipad from scratch again
,
how to get past syncing to itumes on startup for ipad
,
i pad2 startup
,
ipad cycles through apple icon on startup
,

ipad itunes icon startup

,
itunes icon on startup ipad
,
troubleshoot ipad itunes icon startup
,
what does i tunes message mean on start up of ipad?
Click on a term to search for related topics.