Welcome to iPadForums.net Guest - Click Here to Register

Verizon Store 3G Help FAIL

This is a discussion on Verizon Store 3G Help FAIL within the iPad 2 Forum forums, part of the Apple iPad Discussions category; Bought the iPad 2 at my local Verizon store last week. Two nights ago, I decided to activate the 3G just to try it out ...

iPadForums.net is the original Apple iPad Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
  1. #1
    iPF Novice
    Member #
    37276
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    28

    Verizon Store 3G Help FAIL

    Bought the iPad 2 at my local Verizon store last week. Two nights ago, I decided to activate the 3G just to try it out for a month so signed up for the lowest plan. Got a confirmation via e-mail AND the charge has been made to my credit card. However, I've not been able to activate it.

    When I go through the process, I get to a certain point and get a message to "reprovision" the account by going to the Settings> Reset> Subscription Services> Reprovision. When I do that (while connected via wifi) nothing happens. Nothing at all. There was a phone number displayed in the window that told me to go through this process to call in the event that it doesn't work.

    Well, since I work 3 blocks from the local store, I just chose to stop by instead. The woman who helped me didn't know what to do (I had hoped that they had seen this problem with other folks so would be able to help really quickly). So, after showing her what happens (or doesn't happen, actually), she called the number provided and got a Verizon tech who knew absolutely nothing about the iPad 3G service and transferred her to another department.

    This tech really didn't have a clue either but tried to help. She told us to do a hard reset by removing the battary (duh - not possible). Then she asked what my cell number was (Umm, I'm not a verizon phone customer), then she asked if I'd received a text message - umm, how could I recieve a text message when I can't even turn on the cell service? Well, finally, she got frustrated enough that she actually hung up on the woman helping me! I didn't have time to stick around on my lunch break so took off and will be calling their main customer service number tonight from home (I don't have wifi service at work, so can't trouble shoot from here).

    Anyway, sorry for the long story. Has anyone else had this problem and know what I need to do to fix it? Thanks!

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    Banned
    Member #
    12904
    Liked
    35 times
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Posts
    3,655
    I love verizon but customer service depends on location. Try another store. The store closest to me has terrible service, but a verizon kiosk in bj's warehouse ( like SAM's) has the best customer service of any store I have been to in my life. I dropped my phone (so it was my fault) and my phone was out of warranty and they gave me a new one free and they waved the activation fee. Just depends on the person and if they are having a good day. But of course the iPad is new so you are going to get responses like "take out the battery" and "what is your number?". So just try a different store.

  4. #3
    iPF Novice
    Member #
    37276
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    28
    That wasn't the store that had those suggestions to take out the battery - it was their corporate technical customer service! The rep helping me at the store knew better and had to tell them that it could not be removed. I'm not really frustrated with the store, as they only found out on Thursday that they would even have supplies of the iPad 2 in stock for sale. I'm frustrated that their corporate didn't have a clue but I'll be calling them later tonight to try again. There are not very many Verizon stores in the area so I'll be trying that before hitting up a store again. However, my hope was that someone here had the answer to the issue. Thanks.

  5. #4
    Banned
    Member #
    12904
    Liked
    35 times
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Posts
    3,655
    Quote Originally Posted by pennicat
    That wasn't the store that had those suggestions to take out the battery - it was their corporate technical customer service! The rep helping me at the store knew better and had to tell them that it could not be removed. I'm not really frustrated with the store, as they only found out on Thursday that they would even have supplies of the iPad 2 in stock for sale. I'm frustrated that their corporate didn't have a clue but I'll be calling them later tonight to try again. There are not very many Verizon stores in the area so I'll be trying that before hitting up a store again. However, my hope was that someone here had the answer to the issue. Thanks.
    Don't give up yet! Wait for more responses! But get verizon to give you your money back for the data plan. You shouldn't have to pay for it if you can't use it. This is the second product apple has put on verizon so there will be bugs.

  6. #5
    iPF Novice
    Member #
    37276
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    28
    You can be assured that once I get it working, I'll be requesting they extend the plan by the number of days that I haven't been able to use it!

  7. #6
    Banned
    Member #
    12904
    Liked
    35 times
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Posts
    3,655
    Quote Originally Posted by pennicat
    You can be assured that once I get it working, I'll be requesting they extend the plan by the number of days that I haven't been able to use it!
    Thats a better idea!

  8. #7
    iPF Legend
    Member #
    28530
    Liked
    1523 times
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Walla Walla, WA
    Posts
    15,432
    Well, I can't vouch for Verizon, but I know that I can't change look at, or update my AT&T plan unless I have 3G turned on. Go to Settings, Cellular Data, turn on 3G and tap on View Account (or whatever it says) right there.

    If that's not how Verizon is set up, I apologize, but it's the best I can do. Unless you want to send me a Verizon iPad to play with. I'd be happy to figure it out then.

  9. #8
    iPF Novice
    Member #
    37276
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    28
    That's the first thing I did, and that's where this is happening. I use the username and password that I registered with Verizon when I set up and paid for the account. Then I get the message to do this "reprovisioning" that's not working. Also, I have to have a wifi connect to get this far - if I have it turned off, I don't even get the option to enter my login credentials.

  10. #9
    iPad Addict
    Member #
    37720
    Liked
    6 times
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Colonial Heights,Va
    Posts
    1,395
    2 things;a friend of mine is a Verizon store manager and stated they were trained to turn ALL Apple related issues over to Apple. Second did you try activating over 3g vs wifi? To activate my hot spot I had to actually use IT to get to the Verizon website to activate it's usage. Until I did that I basically payed $20 for nothing

    Support Our Troops!!
    This post was Tapatalk approved. Sent from my Incpad

  11. #10
    iPF Legend
    Member #
    28530
    Liked
    1523 times
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Walla Walla, WA
    Posts
    15,432
    Quote Originally Posted by pennicat View Post
    That's the first thing I did, and that's where this is happening. I use the username and password that I registered with Verizon when I set up and paid for the account. Then I get the message to do this "reprovisioning" that's not working. Also, I have to have a wifi connect to get this far - if I have it turned off, I don't even get the option to enter my login credentials.
    Darn. I had a feeling that I wasn't being helpful, but I had to try. Hope you get it resolved soon.


Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. So nobody went to walmart and target...FAIL
    By FatalDesain in forum iPad 2 Forum
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 03-12-2011, 02:42 AM
  2. Fail
    By graywolf in forum iPad General Discussions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-03-2011, 06:30 AM
  3. iOS 4.e WiFi FAIL
    By iwhalperin in forum iPad Help
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 01-19-2011, 04:29 PM
  4. Will iPad Fail in School?
    By theipadstudent in forum iPad General Discussions
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 08-01-2010, 04:01 AM
  5. Zagg Packaging FAIL
    By Linkreincarnate in forum iPad Accessories for iPAD 1, 2 and 3
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-09-2010, 06:46 PM

Search tags for this page

cant can't reprovision account on my ipad mini
,
ipad 2 reprovision account
,
ipad 3 reprovision account
,
ipad reprovision account
,

reprovision account

,
reprovision account ipad
,
reprovision account ipad 2
,
reprovision device
Click on a term to search for related topics.

Tags for this Thread