Welcome to iPadForums.net Guest - Click Here to Register

New iPad owner. What's this black area on screen?

This is a discussion on New iPad owner. What's this black area on screen? within the iPad 1 Forum forums, part of the Apple iPad Discussions category; My iPad is the first Apple product I've ever owned, since I started out with PCs. I'm finding it hard to adjust to the difference. ...

iPadForums.net is the original Apple iPad Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    iPF Noob
    Member #
    233422
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    5

    New iPad owner. What's this black area on screen?

    My iPad is the first Apple product I've ever owned, since I started out with PCs. I'm finding it hard to adjust to the difference. My present problem is with apps...mainly installing them. I've (tried to) install an eBook reader and (tried to) install the Facebook app. Both times, when I pressed the "install app" button, a hazy light black square displayed on the screen. Is this the Apple equivalent of Windows' hourglass or revolving circle indicating that something is happening?

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    iPad Fan
    Member #
    79323
    Liked
    1 times
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    156
    When you install an app from the appstore, a password box should appear asking you to confirm your apple ID password. Have you set up your iPad using your PC or laptop?

  4. #3
    iPF Noob
    Member #
    233422
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    5
    No, I haven't set up my iPadusing my computer. My computer is a PC, and I don't have a clue how to set up the iPad using it, or by using any other method.

  5. #4
    iPad Fan
    Member #
    79323
    Liked
    1 times
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    156
    Quote Originally Posted by sallywil007
    No, I haven't set up my iPadusing my computer. My computer is a PC, and I don't have a clue how to set up the iPad using it, or by using any other method.
    When you set up a new iDevice, you must connect it to a computer or laptop so you can connect to the iTunes program. This updates software onto your device. Perhaps this is the cause of your problem, or did they do it for you in store?

  6. #5
    iPF Noob
    Member #
    233422
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    5
    I bought this iPad on eBay, so, no, it hasn't been set up for anything on any machine. Can I set it up using a PC, or do I have to use a Mac to do it? And what steps do I take to set it up?

  7. #6
    iPad Fan
    Member #
    79323
    Liked
    1 times
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    156
    Quote Originally Posted by sallywil007
    I bought this iPad on eBay, so, no, it hasn't been set up for anything on any machine. Can I set it up using a PC, or do I have to use a Mac to do it? And what steps do I take to set it up?
    Did you buy it new and sealed from ebay? if you did then you can connect to your PC using the USB cable and connect to itunes, this will start the initial setup. If it was a used or unsealed ipad, then perhaps the setup has already been completed. It's always worth connecting to itunes though, with a device that is new to you. It will check for any updates, back-up files etc.

  8. #7
    iPF Novice
    Member #
    194138
    Liked
    3 times
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    34
    The iPad works with Mac and with Windows PCs. You need to install iTunes on your PC if it is not already installed then open it up so it is running, then connect the iPad to your PC with the 30-pin connector cord that should have come with the iPad (it has a USB connector on the other end. iTunes will recognize the iPad. Follow the onscreen messages to set the iPad up.

  9. #8
    iPF Noob
    Member #
    233422
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    5
    Thanks. The iPad was used. I have iTunes installed on my laptop. I ordered a USB connection cable a couple of days ago and will set up the iPad when it gets here.

  10. #9
    iPF Novice
    Member #
    194138
    Liked
    3 times
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    34
    Be sure the cable you ordered as the iPad/iPhone 30-pin connector on one end and USB on the other. Do not know where you live but you can get the cable at an Apple store or at an AT&T and or Verizon store. Most malls have kiosks that sell all kinds of iPad/iPhone accessories too.

  11. #10
    iPF Noob
    Member #
    233422
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    5
    I live in north Georgia 2 hrs from Atlanta and 2 hrs from Asheville, NC, so online's the best option for me. When I next visit Asheville, I plan to visit an Apple store just to see what's available.


Home | Forum | Active Topics | What's New

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. ipad stuck on black loading screen
    By devil in angel in forum iPad Help
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 01-08-2013, 10:23 AM
  2. iPad black screen
    By grilledcheese in forum iPad Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-20-2012, 11:54 AM
  3. Having problem with podcast screen black and cant return tonormal screen
    By yowee in forum New Member Introductions - Site Assistance
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-12-2012, 06:02 AM
  4. Youtube screen is black on my ipad
    By nleamer03 in forum iPad Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-22-2012, 08:53 PM
  5. Working First Gen iPad with Black Screen PLEASE HELP
    By commawom345 in forum iPad 1 Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-17-2011, 11:01 PM

Search tags for this page

apple id black screen
,
black box on ipad screen
,

black square on ipad screen

,

ipad black box on screen

,
ipad black square on screen
,
ipad has a black box on screen
,
part of ipad screen black
,
whats the black square on ipad
Click on a term to search for related topics.