Welcome to iPadForums.net Guest - Click Here to Register

iPad 3G in India with MicroSim!!

This is a discussion on iPad 3G in India with MicroSim!! within the Indian Dedicated iPad Forum forums, part of the Regional iPad Groups category; Hi Tim, I scanned through many many posts over the weekend to understand this 3G issue - locked or unlocked and whether to be activated ...

iPadForums.net is the original Apple iPad Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
+ Reply to Thread
Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 6 7 8 9 10 LastLast
Results 71 to 80 of 93
  1. #71
    iPF Novice
    Member #
    88513
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    17

    Activating ATT in US before taking to India may not be required

    Hi Tim,
    I scanned through many many posts over the weekend to understand this 3G issue - locked or unlocked and whether to be activated or not activated with ATT first before taking it out of US to say - India.

    It appears that one needs to activate the ipad by connecting it to itunes. Now, if that is done while being in the US then once you come to India it just works fine and you can swap the ATT sim (never used) and use a Airtel/Bsnl sim.
    I think the problem is eveyrone is just trying to unbox the ipad in inda, and put a local sim and expecting it to work. There are few people who have never used ATT activation and directly unboxed the ipad for the first time in india and got it working with BSNL - but that is after they followed the itunes activation on wifi.

    So, I think once the device is activated, then you should be able to use a local sim. What do you think !? Yesterday, I went to an apple store in PHX and this is what he told me. I have to admit that when I was chatting to support they said its ATT locked - but the store guy corrected it saying what they are really trying to say is that btwn ATT and verizon, its GSM only.

    Let me know what you think. I have my ipad coming in a couple of days (still deciding whether 16 or 32 and whether black or white )
    I have an indian SIM with international roaming with data. I am going to try that SIM while being in US to see if I latch to ATT - this is ofcourse after I activate the ATT sim with 14.99 plan and then removing it out just to confirm if there is any locking issue. I am expecting that with the Airtel sim that I have, I should be able to latch on to Tmobile on "E" (diff 3gband) or ATT on "H" networks. Lets see !!

    I am already using this SIM on my galaxy S phone here. Works data perfectly, so thats my baseline to compare to.

  2. Ads


  3. #72
    iPF Noob
    Member #
    114500
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    2
    hello there, any kind soul out there would help me???
    if i'm getting an ipad here in india, will it work with other 3G provider outside india??

  4. #73
    iPF Novice
    Member #
    14764
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    delhi
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by sss249 View Post
    hello there, any kind soul out there would help me???
    if i'm getting an ipad here in india, will it work with other 3G provider outside india??
    No iPad is locked to any specific provider, unlike iPhones. So if you buy it anywhere in the world, you could move on to any other service provider globally.

  5. #74
    iPF Noob
    Member #
    114500
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    2
    Thanx a lot for the clarification

  6. #75
    iPF Noob
    Member #
    128857
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Alberta canada
    Posts
    1
    Hello,
    I will be in India for a month and would like to use my iPad there. I am visiting from Canada. What do you recommend? I will be in Delhi.

  7. #76
    iPF Novice
    Member #
    136916
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    18
    I think you would've reached India by now, try BSNL in my experience aircell has very good 3gservice I mean in terms of data speeds. All he best

  8. #77
    iPF Noob
    Member #
    191110
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    1
    I have an Airtel 3G for my iPad, prepaid connection. Is there a way I can check my prepaid balance? How do I know when I run out of balance, do I assume that when I dont connect, I am out of balance? Thanks in advance for anyone who has a solution.

  9. #78
    iPF Novice
    Member #
    136916
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    18
    Just call the customer care they will help you out. I don't know how to find out in airtel, but can help you if you're a BSNL

  10. #79
    iPF Novice
    Member #
    88513
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by Ramki1958 View Post
    I have an Airtel 3G for my iPad, prepaid connection. Is there a way I can check my prepaid balance? How do I know when I run out of balance, do I assume that when I dont connect, I am out of balance? Thanks in advance for anyone who has a solution.
    Yup you can. I do it all the time. But you need to jailbreak your ipad for it first. If you have done that, then there are lots of options.
    search for "USSD ipad" keywords in google. You will get many options but all need to be jailbroken first.


    Anup

  11. #80
    iPF Noob
    Member #
    192610
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by araje

    Yup you can. I do it all the time. But you need to jailbreak your ipad for it first. If you have done that, then there are lots of options.
    search for "USSD ipad" keywords in google. You will get many options but all need to be jailbroken first.

    Anup
    Anup can u pls help me to use this?? & tell me I have get iPad 2 from India only, so it needs to be jailbreak???


Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Ipad 3Gb+Wifi can works without microSIM?
    By jacppe in forum iPad General Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-16-2010, 01:23 PM
  2. Will MicroSIM card work in a laptop as an aircard?
    By spinfreak in forum iPad General Discussions
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 06-01-2010, 04:14 AM
  3. Desperate Apple junkies in India pay $2,260 for iPad
    By 4phun in forum User News Submissions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-18-2010, 08:56 AM

Search tags for this page

can i use ipad air with india sim card
,
how to check 3g balance on ipad mini airtel
,

how to check 3g internet balance in ipad

,

how to know airtel balance in ipad

,
how to know balance in airtel connection i pad
,
ipad mini 3g use in india
,

sim card recharge

,
use ipad verizon micro-sim india
Click on a term to search for related topics.

Tags for this Thread