Welcome to iPadForums.net Guest - Click Here to Register

iPad 3G in India with MicroSim!!

This is a discussion on iPad 3G in India with MicroSim!! within the Indian Dedicated iPad Forum forums, part of the Regional iPad Groups category; Originally Posted by gordita I was planning on surprising my dad (in Mumbai) with the new ipad2 3g version. Problem is, I’m not sure what ...

iPadForums.net is the original Apple iPad Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
+ Reply to Thread
Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 93
  1. #61
    krk
    krk is offline
    iPad Fan!
    Member #
    36406
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Mumbai
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by gordita
    I was planning on surprising my dad (in Mumbai) with the new ipad2 3g version. Problem is, I’m not sure what 3g services and prices are available for Mumbai and Thane location.
    is it as easy as signing up for a 3g plan with one of the providers (eg. vodafone, MTNL, BSNL) and they provide a 3g SIM (which u need to cut to make it a micro-sim), insert into the ipad2 and voila? can someone give me a rough estimate on prices per month for 3g service in Mumbai? Presently, i’m not sure if my dad has 3g on his mobile, he just has basic cell phone coverage. Just like the US, is it possible to sign up for personal hotspot 3g service if his phone and the provider support it? if yes, what models and providers support it?
    3G is available in Mumbai and Thane. Check the websites of respective operators.

    To be on 3G often it is with your existing SIM this can be enabled, nothing special or different about the 3G SIM.

    It is as simple as calling the operator they would start the 3G service for your existing SIM.
    Even new sign ups are identical to signing up for 2G.

    In your dads case he would need micro SIM and a separate connection, most operators should be able to provide micro SIMs, if not there are places where they downsize the Regular SIM,( if you don't want to do it yourself.)

    Hotspots have not yet picked up so well, assume none exists for all practical purpose.
    At home highly recommended to setup wifi hotspot, any wifi modem would do.
    iPad supports the "n" variant which is faster, hence look for wifi modems supporting this variant.

  2. Ads


  3. #62
    iPad Noob!
    Member #
    56684
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Faridabad
    Posts
    1

    Micro Sim problem in India

    Hi.

    I am planning to buy IPAD 2 with 3G services.
    Please suggest me If i buy this from US then there would be any problem with MICRO SIM in INDIA? Or is there any other problem with IPAD 2 in India?

    Please Suggest..................

  4. #63
    iPF Legend
    Member #
    27654
    Liked
    119 times
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    15,248
    Quote Originally Posted by Ricky11 View Post
    Hi.

    I am planning to buy IPAD 2 with 3G services.
    Please suggest me If i buy this from US then there would be any problem with MICRO SIM in INDIA? Or is there any other problem with IPAD 2 in India?

    Please Suggest..................
    As you can see from the posts in this thread, there is no problem operating an iPad2 in India. The iPad's microSIM is relatively new so you might be advised, when you're in the US, to purchase a SIM cutter (see Amazon) that can trim the excess plastic off a regular SIM and make it compatible with the iPad. Also, be sure to purchase the AT&T model iPad; the Verizon model will not work in India. Additionally, you'll have seen in this thread that most Members who bought an iPad in the US and then wanted to use it in India subsequently, had to initialise it while in the US on AT&T - so you'll need to sign up there for a very limited data plan - the minimum cost one - in order to get the iPad 3G networking set up. Once it's initialised, as you'll have seen from the other posts, it will work just fine in India on Vodacom or any other carrier.

    Tim

  5. #64
    iPad Noob!
    Member #
    57208
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    nyc
    Posts
    1
    [quote=Tim SPRACKLEN;218854]
    Quote Originally Posted by Ricky11 View Post
    Hi.

    Additionally, you'll have seen in this thread that most Members who bought an iPad in the US and then wanted to use it in India subsequently, had to initialise it while in the US on AT&T - so you'll need to sign up there for a very limited data plan - the minimum cost one - in order to get the iPad 3G networking set up. Once it's initialised, as you'll have seen from the other posts, it will work just fine in India on Vodacom or any other carrier.

    Tim
    Hi Tim,
    i have heard from friends who have used the iPad 1st version that they did not need to activate it in the US before using it in India. Can you clarify?

    Thanks!

  6. #65
    iPad Noob!
    Member #
    57683
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2
    Halo

  7. #66
    iPF Legend
    Member #
    27654
    Liked
    119 times
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    15,248
    [quote=ipadoza;220358]
    Quote Originally Posted by Tim SPRACKLEN View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Ricky11 View Post
    Hi.

    Additionally, you'll have seen in this thread that most Members who bought an iPad in the US and then wanted to use it in India subsequently, had to initialise it while in the US on AT&T - so you'll need to sign up there for a very limited data plan - the minimum cost one - in order to get the iPad 3G networking set up. Once it's initialised, as you'll have seen from the other posts, it will work just fine in India on Vodacom or any other carrier.

    Tim
    Hi Tim,
    i have heard from friends who have used the iPad 1st version that they did not need to activate it in the US before using it in India. Can you clarify?

    Thanks!
    I've heard varying stories, but by far the most have been from either people who (a) have activated it in the US and then had no trouble when they got home or (b) from those people who did not activate it in the US and then did have trouble when they got home. I've only ever seen one post from a guy who bought an iPad in the US and then said he was able to activate when he got home to Russia.

    Tim

  8. #67
    iPad Noob!
    Member #
    12156
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    2
    The first gen iPad did not require activation. It worked fine. The second gen iPad has launched in India and is available at the outlets.

  9. #68
    iPad Noob!
    Member #
    61040
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    delhi
    Posts
    2
    what is the APN for reliance please?

  10. #69
    iPF Novice
    Member #
    14764
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    delhi
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by mohitoswal View Post
    what is the APN for reliance please?
    SCAM

    Just kidding..

  11. #70
    iPF Legend
    Member #
    27654
    Liked
    119 times
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    15,248
    Quote Originally Posted by mohitoswal View Post
    what is the APN for reliance please?
    Have a look here


    Reliance GSM GPRS settings - India BroadBand

    Tim


+ Reply to Thread
Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Ipad 3Gb+Wifi can works without microSIM?
    By jacppe in forum iPad General Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-16-2010, 01:23 PM
  2. Will MicroSIM card work in a laptop as an aircard?
    By spinfreak in forum iPad General Discussions
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 06-01-2010, 04:14 AM
  3. Desperate Apple junkies in India pay $2,260 for iPad
    By 4phun in forum User News Submissions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-18-2010, 08:56 AM

Search tags for this page

can i use ipad air with india sim card
,
how to check 3g balance on ipad mini airtel
,

how to check 3g internet balance in ipad

,

how to know airtel balance in ipad

,
how to know balance in airtel connection i pad
,
ipad mini 3g use in india
,

sim card recharge

,
use ipad verizon micro-sim india
Click on a term to search for related topics.

Tags for this Thread