Very confused after upgrade 4.3.3 before Jailbreak
Ok. I am super confused.
I followed these instructions:
1. Sync in iTunes to take a current backup.
2. Restore the iPad to 4.3.3 (automatic since it is the latest version)
3. When connected to iTunes for the first time after restore, choose "restore from a previous backup"
4. Let the iPad reboot and fully sync so that all your Apps and Settings are restored.
5 Jailbreak - I suggest you follow the redsn0w tutorial which is a sticky in this section.
Before step 5, I "assumed" I would have my iPad exactly in the same condition it was in BEFORE, albeit with new firmware, but, unjailbroken.
Now, if I understand correctly, the folders function is not a Jailbreak but, is available stock. BUT, all of my folders are gone, and that is the main thing I did not want to lose. I took much time to consolidate everything into several folders, and, after this process, none of the folders remain.
Maybe I have made an "ass" of myself, but, I thought "restore from a previous backup" meant exactly that. If it does not, then, of exactly how much use is a "Restore from backup"?
Did I do something wrong? I only did things in this manner because it seemed to me to be the "cleanest" way to do things. I come from a Windows [don't shoot me] background, and, in that environment, that is often the best way to do some upgrades.
Thanks in advance.